Gordon: Team Canada snubs cause ruckus

Gordon: Team Canada snubs cause ruckus Live

Tampa Bay Lightning general manager Steve Yzerman knew what he was in for. As the point man for Team Canada's Olympic selection process, he was prepared to take heat for the panel's decision.

“From my last experience, it’s easy up until you name the team, Yzerman told reporters in advance of today's announcement. "Then you sit there for five weeks or six weeks until the Olympics start and hold your breath and listen to everybody tell you how stupid you are for leaving this guy or that guy off.

Team Canada announced its roster amid pomp, circumstance and some long speeches from random old guys nobody wanted to hear from.

Blues fans are happy with the Team Canada roster, since the Alex Pietrangelo-Jay Bouwmeester defensive tandem went in as expected. Just throw those two on the ice together and good things happen. That was one of the group's easier decisions, aside from selecting Sidney Crosby.

Here is Canada's 25-man roster:

Goaltenders: Roberto Luongo, Canucks; Carey Price, Canadiens; Mike Smith, Coyotes

Defensemen: Bouwmeester; Pietrangelo; Drew Doughty, Kings; Dan Hamhuis, Canucks; Duncan Keith, Blackhawks; P.K. Subban, Canadiens; Marc-Edouard Vlasic, Sharks; Shea Weber, Predators

Forwards: Crosby, Jamie Benn, Stars; Patrice Bergeron, Bruins; Jeff Carter, Kings; Matt Duchene, Avalanche; Ryan Getzlaf, Ducks; Chris Kunitz, Penguins; Patrick Marleau, Sharks; Rick Nash, Rangers; Corey Perry, Ducks; Patrick Sharp, Blackhawks; Steven Stamkos, Lightning; John Tavares, Islanders; Jonathan Toews, Blackhawks.

The Pietrangelo/Bouwmeester selection assures the Note quite a Blues contingent at Sochi. Earlier, Team USA selected Blues captain
David Backes, his wing man T.J. Oshie and offensive defenseman Kevin Shattenkirk.

Vladimir Sobokta earned a spot on the Czech Republic squad, although shutdown defenseman Roman Polak got stiffed during that country's controversial selection process. (Petr Nedved still plays hockey? Who knew.)

Alexander Steen
and Patrik Berglund got the nod today from the Swedish team, which also made a few head-scratching moves. But there is no Victor Hedman? Really?

Jaroslav Halak will play goal for Slovakia, assuming he is healthy enough to go. Winger Vladimir Tarasenko made the cut for Russia, another Olympic squad that shunned some big names -- including Hurricanes winger Alexander Semin and Stars defenseman Sergei Gonchar.

Elsewhere, NHL fans are worked up. Among the more notable Team Canada omissions were Claude Giroux, Dan Boyle, Martin St. Louis, Joe Thornton, James Neal, Logan Couture, Eric Staal, Taylor Hall, Brent Seabrook and Tyler Seguin.

Here is how the Twitterverse responded to all this news:



Font Size
Viewer Comments
Translate posts and comments.
Powered by Platform for Live Reporting, Events, and Social Engagement